Death Company Marine with Thunderhammer

I thought today I’d try and work on a single model again rather than trying to batch paint a squad.  My final conclusion is that I’m much better at single model painting than batch painting.  I look around the shelves surrounding my painting station, and I see have finished squads staring at me from everywhere, but very few unfinished character models.  I think it’s because I get sick of painting a particular colour fairly quickly and want to move on to something new, and batch painting just doesn;t allow that.

Anyway, I thought I’d try and work on a Death Company Marine for the first part of my leave period.  I put him together on Sunday night, and painted all of the details last night.  I normally hate Space Marines who take their helmets off – it just doesn’t make sense to me, but I’m going to make an exception for the Death Company and have them all bare-headed – after all, they’re there to die, why bother with extras such as helmets that stop you from really ‘sinking your teeth’ into a foe…

I tried the GW site tutorial on painting these guys, and have decided that I’m also not much for that way of doing things.  I prefer the way they’ve had the masterclasses run, where a single feature/element gets painted fully.  I just don’t have the technical skill with the brush to not make mistakes, and the idea of partially painting the gems/blood drops before the gold casings just didn’t work for me.

Anyway, here are the pictures of psychotic marine #1 wielding his thunderhammer.  I have to finish cleaning up all of the mistakes that I made overpainting on the armour, and the armour itself isn’t done at all, but the details, weapons, etc are all finished.

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Blood Guard (Blood Angels). Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

